Home » Product Review » Bath Time is Learning Time

Bath Time is Learning Time

I like to be led by Daniel’s interests as I try to teach him about the world around him. We read the books he wants to, and I try to prompt him to think about what’s on the pages (as much as you can with a 15 month old!). This Daniel – led approach seems to be working for us, and he is able to identify a good range of animals and imitate their noises etc.

He has also become interested in body parts, and can identify his nose, ears, mouth, head/hair, tummy, toes and knees. I’m keen to make learning fun for him, especially as he gets older, so I look for opportunities where ever I can.

One such opportunity is the bath – Daniel absolutely loves the bath, and has done ever since being born. When he first learnt that he could kick and splash in the water he was in his element. So, when I saw the opportunity to apply to be part of the Bath Time Fun Squad I knew it would be right up our street.

DSC_0669

DSC_0671

The lovely H&A bubble bath arrived and Daniel quickly noticed that there was a fish on the front…. I used that as a prompt to teach him the noise a fish makes… although I soon realised I don’t actually know, so we sort of do a pouty movement with our mouth. Daniel excitedly copied back!

I had spotted some bath toys in Dunelm Mill earlier in the week so decided I’d head back and buy him some… at £2 they were a bargain and are of all different sea creatures….

We ran the bath and added the H&A nemo bubble bath, I was really impressed with how bubbly the water went. We usually bath Daniel in just water, saving bubble bath for every now and then. I was impressed with how quickly it foamed, and the nice delicate smell – it didn’t small perfumey at all like some bath products can.

DSC_0676

We popped the toys in… although they nearly disappeared under all the suds! Daniel was excited to see the new bath toys waiting for him and couldn’t wait to get in and play.

He spent a lot of time picking each one up and we repeated the name for him, and the colour, so the blue penguin, the red octopus, the green frog, and where we knew the sounds we did those as well. He was quite taken with the penguin, but he did think it quacks, but I guess at 15 months it’s a bit much to expect him to know the difference between a duck and a penguin!

He had great fun pushing the toys under the bubbles and when I pulled the bubbles out and blew them into the air he loved it. He also enjoyed sitting each of the creatures onto the floating platform, which is a great way for him to develop his hand eye co-ordination as the platform moved in the water.

When bathtime was over there were still lots of bubbles left, usually I find that they quickly disappear, but these really lasted which was nice – Daniel would have happily played on but as it was nearing bedtime we had to get him out and dry. Daniel also sometimes gets a patch of dry skin on his back and his arms, especially when bath products have been used. We have used this bubble bath three times now and his skin has stayed fine, unlike when we have used Johnsons in the past, so I was quite impressed with that.

I’d not heard of H&A prior to seeing the Tots 100 campaign, but did spot the Nemo bubble bath and some other products in my local Asda last week, they will certainly be added to my basket when it’s time to but new bath stuff for Daniel, and I suspect we will use it to contribute to some of the messy play opportunities I have planned for the future.

The full range of H&A bath products can be found here on their site and can be bought from Asda and Sainsburys,

***I applied to Tots100 & H&A for a free bottle of their finding Nemo bubble bath in return for a fair review of the product and teh opportunity to apply to be part of the Bathtime Fun Squad. All words and opinions are genuine and are my own***

5 thoughts on “Bath Time is Learning Time

  1. I’ve read so many good reviews of this product – I think I’m going to have to give it a rry!
    Thanks for linking up this week 🙂
    #TriedTested

I love comments - let me know what you think!

