Home » Bump Watch » Bumpwatch – 36 Weeks

Bumpwatch – 36 Weeks

So, I’m not 36 weeks… picture taken last night. I was laughing whilst my husband was taking these pictures as every time the flash went on the camera, the baby gave a little nudge.

 

DSC_0561 I can barely believe that in six days time I will be considered full term…. it doesn’t feel like the end of the pregnancy is coming.

 

Tomorrow I have an appointment for a growth scan then a follow up with the consultant. This is the exact same time that pre-eclampsia was found with Daniel. I had been quite poorly over the weekend and it was the first time I had really felt that I was struggling. On the Monday I saw my GP who thought I might have a slight chest infection starting, the next day, at 36+2 I was due to see the hospital team to get sign off for a homebirth… thankfully my husband came with me to that appointment as when they told me they had found the maximum protein my hear sank as I explained to Damian what that meant.

 

A series of blood tests were taken and an appointment made for 08:00 the next morning to go to the Antenatal Day Unit (ADU) for a trace and for my BP to be checked etc. At that appointment it became clear that I wasn’t going home and so, as by this stage my blood pressure had rocketed I was kept in. Daniel arrived at 37+3.

 

So… it is with some anxiety I will be at the hospital tomorrow. I don’t think I will relax until I hear that my BP is normal and protein levels too. I feel well, just aching in the morning and tired by afternoon, but I also know just how silent pre-eclampsia is… yesterday my hands were a little swollen and it was uncomfortable to wear my engagement ring. I couldn’t help but worry that it was the start of things… but more likely was the effect of coming into a very warm building.

 

So, as I near full term my thoughts turn to planning for Daniel whilst I am having the baby and for those early days and weeks. My parents will be on call to collect Daniel as and when things start to happen, the travel cot is at their house already and all we will need to do is fit the car seat into their car, which is a quick job. I will need to get a bag together with Daniel’s stuff in such as clean clothes and nappies etc and write out a few details in terms of his milk intake (he is still on formula at the moment due to having a suspected slight intolerance to dairy). But, my parents spend a lot of time with Daniel so I know that I don’t need to prepare too much for him!

 

My hospital bag is ready and packed, I just need to get some food together and the newborn clothes are ready too. We are hoping to start some work in out loft next week so once that is completed we can clear the final bits and pieces out of the baby’s room, but we have a while to do that yet given he or she will be in with us for the first six months.

 

Last week I also received a Calypso breast pump from Ardo Medical. I will be reviewing this in due course.

 

When I was pregnant with Daniel I didn’t realize how much I would use the Medela pump that I was advised to buy. I thought it might be one of those items that ended up gathering dust at the back of the cupboard. However, due to Daniel being quite poorly and back in hospital at two weeks old, I had to express milk for him to be tube fed. Some time ago when I has just realized I was pregnant, I saw this excellent blog post and it made me think twice about re-using my Medela pump with the second baby.

So, I was thrilled when I spotted a tweet from Ardo asking for bloggers to review their product. From the reading and research I have done, this is one of the best pumps on the market and I look forward to reviewing it in more detail in due course.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Bumpwatch – 36 Weeks

  1. I rented an Ardo Calypso when I had milk supply problems and can confirm that it’s a brilliant pump – the best I’ve used and I’ve used a fair few! Hope you get on with it. I’m looking forward to hearing the news of your appointment. I hope all is OK!

  2. Pingback: 36 Weeks – Growth Scan | Life as a happy wife and mum

I love comments - let me know what you think!

