Home » Crafting » Getting my Craft On

Getting my Craft On

One of the things that I said I wanted to dedicate more time to in 2014 was crafting.

 

In 2011/2012 I took a beginners sewing course and loved it, and from there started making things to sell at local craft fairs…. and in turn setting up a mini business – The Crafty Octopus. It was really beginning to take off, and at the last craft fair I did I almost sold out of all my items. However, I was pregnant with baby 2 and finding the early pregnancy fatigues exhausting which meant that when Daniel napped I found myself in bed too, rather than cutting material ready for stitching that evening. Things have been on hold since August last year, I’ve only made one of two things. However a week or two ago I received an order for a blanket so made this one up…. It use Michael Miller Giraffe Love fabric and is backed in snuggly fleece. It’s another thing to go onto my ‘to make’ list for Daniel and the new baby – a list that is ever growing!

 

photo 4

 

 

photo 1(3)Whilst I had the sewing machine out, I stitched up some nursing pads, ready for number 2. I already have three sets of washable pads, but wanted some more… so these are backed in fleece and topped with minky with zorb in the middle. They’re a bit rough and ready but were quick to make up.

 

I also, finally, got round to making a cushion cover for a large cushion we have had since summer… we have been organising our lounge space a bit better so that Daniel has a place for his toys, and in the process I wanted him to have a reading corner, so this big cushion is nophoto(2)w known as the reading cushion and comes out when we sit down to read. Daniel has had great fun throwing himself on it but he is beginning to understand that we sit and read when the cushion comes out. It’s made using a fleece blanket I picked up in Ikea a few weeks pack for £1.60 – a real bargain!

 

 

 

 

 

I also this week joined in with the #creativesunite chat on twitter – see the wonderful Miss Beatrix’s blog for more info. I had found a small cross stitch kit earlier the week and joined in the chatter to complete this little stitch…. didn’t take too long and I suspect this little chick will adorn a card to one of my postcircle ladies soon.

photo 1(2)

 

 

So, all in all a productive couple of weeks in terms of crafting. I’ve really enjoyed having time to sit and do something I enjoy – admittedly it has been mostly making use of the occasions when I have been Daniel free for a few hours. However I am really beginning to feel the pregnancy tiredness setting in again, particularly so as Daniel is becoming more and more energetic and demanding of my attention. However on Tuesday I have a hospital appointment so Daniel will be with my parents for the day, so I hope to catch up on my postcircle correspondence and continue my latest cross stitch project… more of which in due course.

 

 

I love comments - let me know what you think!

