Home » General » Remembering the Positives

Remembering the Positives

All too often it is easy to dwell on the negatives in life. As I scrolled through my twitter and Facebook feeds on new years eve, it was surprising just how many people were glad to see the end of 2013, remembering it for all the bad things that had happened.

 

Compared to 2012, 2013 was a good year for me, yet I find myself still remembering the negatives; the funerals I went to, the people who have passed and the bad experiences rather than the amazing things that happened – I decided to leave my paid job to become a full time stay at home mum, I sold my crafty makes at craft fairs, surpassing all expectations I had and my family will be expanding in the next month or so.

 

For my birthday, my sister in law bought me this wall sign…. It hangs in my hallway and I pass it numerous times a day…

 

photo 1(1)

It is a simple message that, even on the darkest of days, there is something positive. Be it something as simple as a thoughtful cup of tea, a kind word, the sound of a cat purring or a baby laughing.

 

With that in mind, I have decided that 2014 will be a more positive year…. and that I will be remembering the good things by creating a ‘happiness jar’. This isn’t something new, I’ve seen it on twitter, blogs and instagram for a while now, and I don’t know where the idea originates. But, with a simple jar I found hiding at the back of a cupboard earlier this week I will be writing down the good and happy memories of our year, and in 2015 will enjoy looking back at them.

 

photo 2

I’m aiming to have at least two happy notes a week, but won’t limit myself. I had to smile when I labelled the jar I worried that it was too big… perhaps a sign of my pessimistic nature?

 

Have you ever done anything similar?

I love comments - let me know what you think!

