Home » General » A victory for the little man (and reindeers)

A victory for the little man (and reindeers)

I am pretty lucky to live in Greater Manchester, and have access to all its wonderful amenities. Every once in a while I will have a look at what events are taking place in and around the city. It was earlier in the week that I spotted a Christmas shopping event at Manchester Central. It sounded like it might be a good day out, and so I added it to my ‘purchase’ list for a few weeks time.

However, I was sorely disappointed to read that they intended to have live reindeer at the event. The shopping event takes place over three days, including a weekend, and it certainly not an appropriate place for live animals. There is an excellent leaflet, produced by Animal Aid which perfectly explains why reindeer should not be used in such events. Transporting the reindeer alone adds significant stress to these poor creatures. They are not there to be exploited and paraded around a shopping centre for the ‘entertainment’ of humans.

I was really disappointed that I wouldn’t be able to go to this event. However, I got in touch with the wonderful charity Captive Animals to alert them to the use of reindeer at this event. I will be honest, I expected the organizers to come back with the usual nonsense about how the RSPCA will ensure welfare etc etc and how they will be treated well. However, I was pleasantly surprised today to receive the following information via twitter:

Hi. We value your comments and have reconsidered our decision which we thought would be a magical experience…

The Magical Christmas Fair will have lots of magical experiences that do not involve live animals…

We value the fact that you raised this issue as we hope that your members will now be able to enjoy the fair

So, well done the the Magical Christmas Fair for acknowledging that actually, the reindeer really are not suited to this event and for admitting so. And well done to Captive Animals for raising this with them.

So a victory for the little man (and the reindeer) means that I can now go on to purchase my ticket knowing that I won’t be contributing to the suffering of any live animals.

If you’d be interested in seeing a review of the event, then let me know and if/when I go I will review.

4 thoughts on “A victory for the little man (and reindeers)

  1. Pingback: Room 101 | Life as a happy wife and mum

  2. Pingback: A – Z of Me… A is for… | Life as a happy wife and mum

I love comments - let me know what you think!

