Home » Number 2 » Making space for a new addition

Making space for a new addition

When we knew Daniel was on the way, it was easy to know which room he would have. We only really used our bedroom, the other two rooms were used to store books, the computer and my sewing machine.

 

Now we have Daniel, and he has his room, the third room became even more of a dumping ground! The much used computer and printer are in there, our household paperwork is there, we have a couple of bookcases filled with books and, most importantly for me, my sewing machine and crafty stuff is there.

 

We have started the long, slow process of clearing out the room, we have been ruthless with books, novels that we’ve read have been sent to charity shops, books that I have picked up in charity shops and tried to read but couldn’t get into have also gone. Paperwork has been tidied and I have re-organised my crafty bits and pieces. This has in turn meant I realized just how much cross stitching stuff I have, but has in turn rekindled that old pastime which is lovely. I have also come across balls of yarn, organised my knitting needles and finally given up on the crochet. Craft magazines have been culled, with favorite articles saved and filed away – it is amazing just how much space magazine take up!

 

However, I now need to decide where my trusty sewing machine goes. It has been somewhat neglected in recent months… I’ve barely made a thing. I have had a clear through and sort out of all my ready made items, and listed them for sale (see here). I do however have a mountain of fabric that I really need to go through and either sell, or make something with. I don’t think it’s realistic to make enough stuff to cover a craft fair – although it would be great if I could, I just don’t think I have the time and energy to do that.

 

So…. my plan is to have to room clear by Christmas… and we need to visit Ikea to get a shelving unit and either a chest of drawers or a wardrobe. We have a crib already and instead of buying a second cot, we will move Daniel into a toddler bed when the time comes for the new addition to move into his or her own room. It feels like there is still so much to do….

I love comments - let me know what you think!

